Toot & Puddle: Pure joy.

Toot & Puddle

 

Picture Book

Ages 3-7

By Holly Hobbie

32 pages

Little, Brown

1997

 

Many readers may associate the name Holly Hobbie with an image of a cat-loving girl in a patchwork dress, wearing an over-sized bonnet. The creators are one and the same. Hobbie designed the young girl that bears her name in 1967, while working with American Greetings. Until I started working on this review, that trademarked name was the only true connection I could find between the once ubiquitous little girl and these two delightful pigs.

Personally, I was never able to connect with the character of Holly Hobbie.

That contemplative girl just did not speak to me. Looking back on those images now, it’s clear that Holly Hobbie, the artist, is extremely talented. Her meticulously detailed, delicate art is lovely and endearing. It’s the beginnings of a style that will one day produce the two glorious characters, Toot and Puddle.

Hobbie’s penchant for detail has not waned; her delicate style has been perfected. She’s able to depict each individual flake of snow, every square of the pattern on a chair, and yet the art never feels crowded. With an expert eye and a varied palette, she’s able to flawlessly represent the radiance of the rising sun streaming through a window or the steely gray sky of an early March morning. Her exquisite art seems to glow with life.

Toot and Puddle, two exuberant pigs, live together in Woodcock Pocket. Puddle loves to stay home and Toot loves to travel. Perfectly alternating her text between correspondences from a traveling Toot, and the activities of Puddle back home, Hobbie the writer is also remarkable.

Toot has been to Cape Cod, the Grand Canyon and the redwood forests. Now he wants to see the world! About to embark on his biggest trip ever, he invites Puddle come along.

“Puddle preferred to stay at home.”

Over the next several pages, we’re given snapshot of the two friends’ separate activities.

After months of traveling, Toot decides to return home.

Puddle is full of excitement and sets to readying their home for his friend’s arrival.

The reunited friends celebrate; they toast to their wonderful adventures and to being together again.

Toot and Puddle, whether spending time together or enjoying escapades apart, exude an infectious happiness.

 

View on Powell’s Oregon’s premier independent bookstore

View on Amazon

11 Responses so far

  1. 1

    suth2 said,

    Thank you for this review. I have just ordered the book for my granddaughter.

  2. 2

    Cathy said,

    I think Toot and I have the same luggage packing technique. This looks a gorgeous book. It’s on my list for my grandson.

  3. 3

    Well, I need to head to the library and pick this up to read to my kids.

  4. 4

    Dulcimer said,

    Oh, this book looks adorable! I’m so glad I stumbled upon your site. We can’t get enough good children’s books around here.

  5. 5

    Toot and Puddle are favorites here at our home. (Mostly because the kids think it is funny that we say the word ‘toot’ (our word for a less than lovely bodily function) so often when reading the books.) The Borneo story is my eldest son’s favorite.

  6. 6

    I’ve never heard about Toot and Puddle and now after reading this I’ve fallen in love with them. I understand both Toot’s love of adventure and Puddle’s love for home and hearth. I go through both these emotions while travelling and when I return home after a journey :)

  7. 7

    kiwiskan said,

    A wonderful story – and guaranteed to be loved by children. Thanks for showing this.

  8. 8

    ohlidia said,

    What sweet illustrations! And I just happen to love piggies!

  9. 9

    Oh, I love these books, I totally forgot about them! This is why I love following your blog: my third baby gets to experience all the great books I forgot about since the first one… :)

  10. 11

    Thanks for a lovely review of one of my favorite books! I love Toot and Puddle!


Comment RSS

Comments are closed.

Children's Books Heal

Always remember that you are absolutely unique. Just like everyone else. -- Margaret Mead

prettybooks

Fiction, Young Adult and Children's Books & Reviews

Design of the Picture Book

the intersection of graphic design + picture books

David Gaughran

Let's Get Digital

BookPeople's Blog

Austin's largest independent bookstore since 1970 - 603 N. Lamar Blvd.

The Librarian Who Doesn't Say Shhh!

Opening books to open minds.

This Kid Reviews Books

A Place for Kids and Grown-Ups to Discover Books

Kid Lit Reviews

Honest, Thoughtful Reviews

Loren Long

children’s book illustrator and author

Creative Grove Artist & Designer Market

Monthly festivals, every third Friday 3-9,- Grove Street PATH Plaza, Jersey City, NJ

Delightful Children's Books

Find a book to delight a child.

Book Blogger Directory

The Big Blog of Book Blogs

Nerdy Book Club

A community of readers

Sommer Reading

A Blog About Books

educating alice

monica edinger, teacher and reader of children's literature

Bobs Books Blog

Childrens and Young Adult Book Reviews by Bob Docherty

Random Acts of Reading

reviews, raves and a random assortment of book buzz

children's books for grown-ups

Natasha Worswick's blog

Watch. Connect. Read.

Children's Book Reviews

Book-A-Day Almanac

Children's Book Reviews

100 Scope Notes

Children's Lit

Children's Book Reviews

TurtleAndRobot.com

Children's Book Reviews

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,947 other followers

